Puerto Ricans will be able to partially observe the solar eclipse on April 8

Puerto Ricans will be able to appreciate, although partially, the solar eclipse which will happen on April 8 and that it can be seen, in its entirety, in the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.

Due to the positions of the sun and the moon at the time of the astronomical phenomenon, residents in the aforementioned states will be able to observe a total solar eclipse, while in Puerto Rico a partial eclipse will be observed. The last time this phenomenon occurred in the United States and the Americas region was in 2017, and the next total solar eclipse that can be seen in the United States will occur in August 2044.

On that occasion, in Puerto Rico the moon covered 80% of the sun.

Miguel Martínez Ledesmaresearcher of Department of Heliophysics of the Goddard Space Flight Center of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), indicated to The new day that from Puerto Rico a partial eclipse will be seen that will bring with it a slight reduction in temperatures and the intensity of sunlight.